Skip to content
Home » When Does Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi Take Place?

When Does Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi Take Place?

Released October 26, 2022 on Disney+, Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi is a new anthology series featuring Ahsoka Tano and Count Dooku. Set around the time of the Prequel Trilogy, the six-episode TV series expands the backstory of these two popular Jedi. Since the episodes feature different periods in each character’s lifetime, it can be confusing as to exactly when they take place. There are also large time jumps between each episode. We explain when Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi takes place and how to watch the series in chronological order with the rest of the Star Wars films and shows.

What Is Tales of the Jedi

Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi is a 2022 animated series created by Dave Filoni. Set during the Prequel era, the limited series focuses on Ahsoka and Dooku during and after their time with the Jedi Order.

All six animated shorts were released on Disney+ on October 26, 2022 and each episode runs about 15 minutes. They are considered canon stories within the Star Wars universe.

The series was officially announced on April 27, 2022, as part of the schedule for Star Wars Celebration Anaheim. Amy Ratcliffe hosted the panel on May 28, 2022, with Dave Filoni joining as a special guest. They debuted the first episode during the panel.

Ashley Eckstein, Corey Burton, and Matt Lanter reprised their roles as Tano, Dooku, and Anakin Skywalker, respectively. Also returning from The Clone Wars are TC Carson, James Arnold Taylor, Phil LaMarr, and Dee Bradley Baker.

Liam Neeson and Ian McDiarmid also returned from the Prequels to voice Qui-Gon Jinn and Darth Sidious, respectively. Bryce Dallas Howard, who directed episodes of The Mandalorian and The Book of Boba Fett, voices Jedi Master Yaddle.

There are rumors of a second season, potentially following the stories of other Jedi, but Lucasfilm has not made any announcements yet.

What Is Tales of the Jedi Within the Legends Timeline?

Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi is also the name of a comic book series published by Dark Horse Comics from 1993 to 1998. The comics are set thousands of years before the movies, during a period known as the Old Republic.

Originally part of the Star Wars Expanded Universe, they are now part of the Legends Timeline and are not canon. There is no connection between the original comic series and the 2022 animated television series.

When Does Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi Take Place?

Although set mostly during the Prequel Era, Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi takes place over more than 40 years. Each episode takes place at a different time, often with as many as 15 years between each episode.

Although presented out of order, the first three episodes all take place before The Phantom Menace. The second episode, “Justice,” is set sometime between 68 BBY and 42 BBY when Qui-Gon Jinn served as Dooku’s Padawan.

“Choices,” episode three, is similarly set between 50 BBY and 42 BBY. Not enough is known about Dooku’s life as a Jedi Master to definitively place either episode.

Although “Life and Death” is the first episode in the series, it takes place after episode three. It begins in 36 BBY and follows the first year of Ahsoka Tano’s life.

The fourth episode, “The Sith Lord,” is set in 32 BBY. Most of the episode occurs concurrently with The Phantom Menace, with the final segment taking place shortly after the end of the film.

“Practice Makes Perfect” takes place during the Clone Wars, from approximately 21 to 19 BBY. However, it is difficult to definitively place each segment due to several inconsistencies between the episode and The Clone Wars series.

The episode “Resolve” starts in 19 BBY and occurs concurrently with the end of Revenge of the Sith. The rest of the episode occurs sometime between 18 BBY and 5 BBY. Although basically the same story, the episode is inconsistent with the 2016 novel Ahsoka by E. K. Johnston. As a result, it’s unclear exactly when the events take place in the Star Wars timeline.

Despite these minor contradictions, Tales of the Jedi still fits nicely within the canon timeline and expands what we know about Ahsoka and Dooku.

Here is when each episode of Tales of the Jedi takes place as far as we know:

  • Episode 2: Justice – Sometime between 68 and 42 BBY
  • Episode 3: Choices – Sometime between 50 and 42 BBY
  • Episode 1: Life and Death – 36 to 35 BBY
  • Episode 4: The Sith Lord – 32 BBY
  • Episode 5: Practice Makes Perfect – c. 21 to 19 BBY
  • Episode 6: Resolve – 19 BBY, then sometime between 18 and 5 BBY

Where Does Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi Fit With the Rest of the Star Wars Timeline?

A number of other Star Wars movies and shows, not to mention a large collection of novels, comic books, and other adventures, take place in between each episode.

If you plan to watch Star Wars chronologically, follow this order:

  1. Tales of the Jedi – Episode 2: Justice (2022)
  2. Tales of the Jedi – Episode 3: Choices (2022)
  3. Tales of the Jedi – Episode 1: Life and Death (2022)
  4. Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999)
  5. Tales of the Jedi – Episode 4: The Sith Lord – 32 BBY
  6. Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002)
  7. Star Wars: The Clone Wars (2008)
  8. The Clone Wars – Season One (2008/2009)
  9. The Clone Wars – Season Two (2009/2010)
  10. Tales of the Jedi – Episode 5: Practice Makes Perfect (2022)
  11. The Clone Wars – Season Three (2010/2011)
  12. The Clone Wars – Season Four (2011/2012)
  13. The Clone Wars – Season Five (2012/2013)
  14. The Clone Wars – Season Six (2014)
  15. The Clone Wars – Season Seven (2020)
  16. Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)
  17. The Bad Batch – Season One (2021)
  18. Tales of the Jedi – Episode 6: Resolve (2022)

After “Resolve,” resume watching our list of all Star Wars movies and shows in chronological order with Season Two of The Bad Batch.